DrChrono Alternatives in 2026: What Independent Practices Should Compare Before Switching
A decision guide for practices questioning DrChrono: how its tiers, add-ons and metered fees compare with a flat-priced all-in-one system, where DrChrono still fits, and what to check before signing.
For an owner questioning DrChrono in 2026, the choice turns less on feature counts than on cost and commitment. Four things matter most: what each plan includes versus what is sold as an add-on or metered per use, what the contract commits the practice to, how cleanly the existing record moves, and how claims get billed. [1][2] DrChrono still fits practices that want unlimited staff accounts across tiers and are comfortable with a quoted price. It also fits practices that rely on the lab and imaging connectivity its pricing page puts at over 40K services, as of October 5, 2026. [1] An all-in-one practice operating system such as iPMS differs mainly in two ways. It publishes a fixed monthly price by team size, and every plan includes ambient documentation and scheduling. In exchange, it requires a 36-month commitment and a one-time provisioning fee. [2][iPMS]
What DrChrono's pricing page shows, as of October 5, 2026
As of October 5, 2026, DrChrono's public pricing page lists Foundation, Growth and Premium plans and asks buyers to request a quote. It publishes no monthly price for any tier. [1] The tiers build on one another:
- Foundation combines EHR, patient engagement, practice management and billing tools. [1]
- Growth adds advanced features and automated revenue cycle workflows. [1]
- Premium adds advanced AI, premium add-ons and enhanced tools. [1]
Revenue cycle management is the path from a signed note to a paid claim. DrChrono labels it "Billing" on Foundation and "Revenue Cycle Software" on the upper tiers. [1][3]
As of October 5, 2026, the plan comparison on the same page separates included features from add-ons as follows. [1]
- Medication management and medical speech-to-text are add-ons on Foundation and included on Growth and Premium. [1]
- EverHealth Scribe is an add-on on Foundation and Growth and included on Premium. [1]
- Quest and LabCorp integration is on every tier. [1]
- Extended lab integration covers over 40K labs and imaging services. It is an add-on on Foundation and Growth at $30 per provider per month and included on Premium. [1]
- Staff accounts and email reminders are unlimited on every tier. [1]
- Every tier lists a dedicated implementation specialist, a dedicated training team, custom training videos and data migration. Migration fees depend on data format. [1]
Where the metered costs sit
A metered cost is billed per unit of use rather than within the subscription. As of October 5, 2026, DrChrono's page lists several. [1]
- Text/phone reminder allowances are 250/100 on Foundation, 500/250 on Growth and 1000/750 on Premium. [1]
- Incoming/outgoing e-fax allowances are 500, 1000 and 2000 on the same three tiers. [1]
- Usage beyond plan limits costs $0.05 per text, $0.07 per page faxed and $0.10 per phone call. [1]
Some billing transactions are also metered. [1]
- On Foundation, real-time eligibility checks are marked "per check" and the integrated claim management tool "per claim". [1]
- Claims sent to iHCFA for workers' compensation and auto are "per claim" on every tier. [1]
- The page does not state the per-check or per-claim rates, so those must come from the quote. [1]
The page also lists several fixed per-item charges. [1]
- Paper claims cost $1.00 each and mailed statements $.90 each. Paper workers' compensation claims cost $1.50 each. [1]
- Electronic patient statements cost $0.59 each. [1]
- Integrated payments include a $5 program fee and a credit card processing fee of 3.25%+$.30. [1]
DrChrono's effective monthly cost therefore depends on volume. Comparing subscription lines alone will miss these charges. A fair comparison prices a typical month of reminders, faxes, eligibility checks, claims and card payments against the quote. [1]
Where DrChrono still fits
Some practices are likely to be better served by staying with DrChrono, or by asking it for a revised quote, than by switching. [1][2]
- Practices with many non-provider staff. As of October 5, 2026, DrChrono lists unlimited staff accounts on every tier. iPMS tiers count providers and team members together, at up to 2, 4 and 8, with enterprise pricing above that. [1][2]
- Practices that cannot accept a multi-year term. iPMS requires a 36-month commitment. As of October 5, 2026, DrChrono's pricing page states no contract term, so compare against the term in its written quote. [1][2]
- Practices that depend on broad lab and imaging connectivity. As of October 5, 2026, DrChrono lists over 40K labs and imaging services, included on Premium or available as an add-on. [1]
- Primary care and behavioral health practices with established templates. As of October 5, 2026, DrChrono's site lists the specialties it serves, including family medicine, general practice, pediatrics and internal medicine. It also lists counseling and therapy, and psychiatry. Its plans include a specialty-specific form and template library. [1]
How an all-in-one system differs
iPMS publishes its prices. [2][iPMS]
- Aegis is $599 per month for up to 2 providers or team members. [2][iPMS]
- Athena is $759 per month for up to 4. [2][iPMS]
- Olympus is $899 per month for up to 8. [2][iPMS]
- Enterprise pricing applies at 9 or more. [2][iPMS]
Every plan includes the Smart EHR, Smart Scribe, Smart Scheduling and payment integration through Square or Stripe. [2] Smart Scribe is ambient documentation: speech captured during the visit becomes a structured note that the clinician reviews and signs. [2] Every plan includes e-prescribing for 2 prescribers, and each additional prescriber is $30 per month. [2]
The entry tier also covers work outside the chart. [2]
- payroll, pay stubs and W-2/1099 summaries [2]
- a time clock and time off [2]
- HR files and onboarding [2]
- a unified patient text inbox [2]
- an audit trail and backups [2]
The higher tiers add further modules. [2]
- Aegis excludes AI growth tools, advertising automation, consent signing and Signature Therapies. [2]
- Athena adds marketing, advertising and analytics. It also adds a collections queue, aging report and late fees. [2]
- Olympus adds consent forms and a Twilio automated receptionist. [2]
For claims, the iPMS features page lists the following components. [3]
- X12 837P professional claims [3]
- 835 remittance posting [3]
- a clearinghouse module [3]
- a denial engine that refiles corrected claims as replacements [3]
- eligibility checks per coverage [3]
The pricing page does not itemise claim submission by tier. It also does not state clearinghouse or eligibility transaction costs, so confirm both in writing. [2][3]
Each iPMS practice runs on its own dedicated instance. [iPMS] The site lists the following security features. [iPMS]
- an append-only access log with a SHA-256 hash chain [iPMS]
- immutable signed notes [iPMS]
- two-factor authentication [iPMS]
- role-based access [iPMS]
- automatic logoff [iPMS]
- nightly backups [iPMS]
Commitment, fees and switching cost
The iPMS provisioning fee is charged once, with the first payment. [2]
- The fee is $5,850 for Aegis, $9,500 for Athena and $15,600 for Olympus. [2]
- Prepaying the first year waives half of that fee and earns a 10% discount. [2]
- Annual prepayment is $6,469.20 for Aegis, $8,197.20 for Athena and $9,709.20 for Olympus. [2]
- Monthly billing includes the full fee. [2]
After the 36-month term, plans renew every 12 months unless the practice gives 90 days' written notice. [2] Cancelling early, or without that notice, makes any waived part of the provisioning fee due. [2] On the DrChrono side, as of October 5, 2026, the pricing page says data migration may be free or may cost extra, depending on the format of the data. [1]
Moving records from DrChrono
The iPMS features page lists a DrChrono chart import covering demographics, problems, allergies, medications and history. [3] The same page lists a two-way DrChrono sync for patients, appointments and balances. [3] The page does not say how the sync is used during a transition. Ask the vendor whether it allows the two systems to run side by side or whether the switch happens on a single date. [3] The published import list does not name prior encounter notes, scanned documents or claim history, so ask how those move. [3] For a later exit, the page lists export of electronic health information (EHI) for a single patient or the whole population. [3] The site also lists FHIR R4 and HL7 v2.5.1 among its integration standards. [3][iPMS]
How to decide
Work through these questions with both vendors' written quotes in hand. [1][2]
- How many people need logins, counting providers and everyone else? Does that count fit an iPMS tier, or do DrChrono's unlimited staff accounts matter more? [1][2]
- What would a typical recent month of texts, calls, faxes, eligibility checks, claims and card payments cost? Price it at DrChrono's listed overage and transaction rates, plus the per-check and per-claim rates in its quote. [1]
- Which DrChrono add-ons are in use today, such as EverHealth Scribe, speech-to-text, medication management or extended labs? Would they be included at a higher tier or in the alternative? [1][2]
- Can the practice commit to 36 months with 90 days' notice? What term and cancellation conditions appear in DrChrono's written quote? [1][2]
- Who submits claims? Has the alternative confirmed in writing which plan includes claim submission and what clearinghouse and eligibility transactions cost? [2][3]
- What would Square or Stripe processing cost at the practice's card volume? How does that compare with DrChrono's $5 program fee and 3.25%+$.30 processing fee? [1][2]
- Which records must move, including notes, documents and claim history? Has each vendor stated in writing what migrates and at what fee? [1][3]
- How will cutover work? Has the vendor described in writing what the two-way DrChrono sync covers and whether both systems can run during the transition? [3]
- Does the practice need payroll, HR, marketing or an automated receptionist in the same system, or are those already handled elsewhere? [2]
References
- drchrono.com. Pricing | DrChrono. Accessed October 5, 2026. drchrono.com
- myipms.app. Plans and pricing — IPMS. Accessed October 5, 2026. myipms.app
- myipms.app. Platform features — IPMS. Accessed October 5, 2026. myipms.app
How this was written: drafted with AI from the sources listed above, then checked automatically, claim by claim, against them before publishing. The iPMS Practice Desk covers the business and operations of independent practices: payment, documentation, efficiency, productivity and managing the team. It reads federal rules, CMS and HHS notices and published research so practices do not have to. Every factual statement links to its source.