CMS Final Rule on Medicaid and CHIP Funding for Sex-Rejecting Procedures: A Practice Brief
A CMS final rule published August 13, 2026 bars federal Medicaid funds for sex-rejecting procedures under age 18 and separate CHIP funds under age 19, with a time-limited hormone-therapy transition.
On August 13, 2026, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), part of the Department of Health and Human Services, published a final rule in the Federal Register as document 2026-16508 [1]. The rule restricts Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) payment and federal funding for what it calls "sex-rejecting procedures" furnished to children [1]. This brief uses the rule's own terminology and reports what the published summary states [1].
What the rule does
For Medicaid, the rule requires that a State Medicaid plan provide that the Medicaid agency will not make payment under the plan for sex-rejecting procedures for children under 18 [1]. It also prohibits the use of federal Medicaid dollars to fund sex-rejecting procedures for individuals under the age of 18 [1].
For CHIP, the rule requires that a separate State CHIP plan provide that the CHIP agency will not make payment under the plan for sex-rejecting procedures for children under 19 [1]. It prohibits the use of federal CHIP dollars to fund sex-rejecting procedures for individuals under the age of 19 [1].
The rule includes a transition provision for beneficiaries who are actively receiving cross-sex hormone therapy [1]. Federal Financial Participation (FFP), the term the rule uses for the federal funding that state agencies claim, may continue to be claimed by State Medicaid and CHIP agencies for those hormone therapy medications for up to 6 months from the rule's effective date [1]. As summarized, the provision is permissive (agencies "may" continue to claim), it is limited to hormone therapy medications, and it applies to beneficiaries already receiving that therapy [1].
Who it affects
The requirements are written as conditions on State Medicaid plans, separate State CHIP plans and the agencies that administer them [1]. The summary does not describe obligations placed directly on providers or practices [1]. The beneficiary populations it names are Medicaid beneficiaries under 18 and separate CHIP beneficiaries under 19, so the two programs carry different age thresholds [1].
Dates that matter
- Publication in the Federal Register: August 13, 2026 [1].
- Effective date: the summary refers to "the effective date of this final rule" but does not state it, so the date should be confirmed in the full Federal Register document [1].
- Hormone therapy transition: up to 6 months from the effective date, during which state agencies may continue to claim FFP for those medications [1].
For context, other CMS final rules published July 31, 2026 set facility payment policy for the fiscal year beginning October 1, 2026, covering inpatient psychiatric facilities and skilled nursing facilities [2][3]. The Medicaid and CHIP rule is not described as tied to that fiscal-year cycle; its stated timing runs from its own effective date [1].
What a practice should check
- Read the full rule's definition of sex-rejecting procedures, because the summary does not list the services, drugs or billing codes it covers [1].
- Identify active patients covered by Medicaid who are under 18 and patients covered by a separate CHIP plan who are under 19, since those are the populations named in the rule [1].
- Confirm whether your state operates a separate CHIP plan, because the CHIP provisions in the summary are framed around separate State CHIP plans [1].
- Monitor notices from your State Medicaid and CHIP agencies, because the rule's requirements are framed as conditions on state plans and the agencies that administer them [1].
- Ask your state agency whether it will continue claiming FFP for hormone therapy medications during the transition, because the summary describes that allowance as permissive and limited to beneficiaries already receiving the therapy [1].
- Review eligibility checks so they reflect the two age thresholds named in the rule: under 18 for Medicaid and under 19 for separate CHIP [1].
- Brief billing staff on the payment and federal funding restrictions as the summary describes them, including the two age thresholds and the hormone-therapy transition period [1].
Limitations
This brief is based on the Federal Register summary of document 2026-16508 rather than the full regulatory text [1]. The summary does not state the effective date, does not define which procedures fall within the rule, and does not describe state-by-state implementation, so the full rule and state agency guidance are the places to confirm those details [1].
References
- federalregister.gov. Medicaid Program; Prohibition on Federal Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program Funding for Sex-Rejecting Procedures Furnished to Children. Accessed October 6, 2026. federalregister.gov
- federalregister.gov. Medicare Program; FY 2027 Inpatient Psychiatric Facilities Prospective Payment System-Rate Update. Accessed October 6, 2026. federalregister.gov
- federalregister.gov. Medicare Program; Prospective Payment System and Consolidated Billing for Skilled Nursing Facilities; Updates to the Quality Reporting Program for Federal Fiscal Year 2027. Accessed October 6, 2026. federalregister.gov
How this was written: drafted with AI from the sources listed above, then checked automatically, claim by claim, against them before publishing. The iPMS Practice Desk covers the business and operations of independent practices: payment, documentation, efficiency, productivity and managing the team. It reads federal rules, CMS and HHS notices and published research so practices do not have to. Every factual statement links to its source.